Song of the Day: Zella Day – East of Eden

Today I discovered Zella Day!!!!

She is beautiful both physically and vocally. I love her fashion sense, her style of music, her vocal control, and lyrical compositions. I may just be excited because I found a new artist that I really enjoy listening to, so please excuse my gushing. She is lovely.

I heard Hypnotic on the radio on my drive home from school and her voice and music captured my attention immediately. I love listening to the radio, driving and then when a new or fantastic song comes on my ears get a little perkier and my mind finds a focus. I also realized she has a song called Sacrifice that is featured in Insurgent, which I liked Divergent but I have yet to see Insurgent. Apparently I’m a little behind on pop culture and the indie music they let in.

I also loved her songs Compass, High and Sweet Ophelia and would recommend checking them out. She is very therapeutic to listen to. Music is therapy.

For our song of the day however, I think East of Eden had the best application to our times today. Or perhaps just the issues that have come into focus for me. It is a goal of our generation to keep from being in cages and be allowed to live our lives the way we decide, not society or family pressures. I think people need all the support and love they can get in order to follow where their hearts lead them. Unfortunately, as Paulo Coelho talks about in The Alchemist, there are obstacles in the way of our personal legend. We are confronted by realists every day who seem to think reality is that there are impossibilites and that our dreams in life won’t really happen, that they are just dreams. So we settle. We are confronted by the fear of leaving the ones we love behind to follow our personal legend. We don’t want to miss our families or loved ones by following our dreams and so we choose them over our own personal fulfillment. It’s understandable, however I also think that this is a misconception of selfishness. In The Shame Game (amazing book), the author talks about how its OKAY to be a little selfish. That kind of selfishness ensures that we take care of ourselves first and foremost. If we can’t take care of ourselves, how are we ever going to be a positive influence on the people around us? Personally, I don’t think we can do a very good job if we ourselves aren’t on track with where WE want to go and who we want to be. We are finally faced with our own fear of failure. That fear makes us stop in our tracks, be wary of taking risks, that fear is crippling. It can stop us from growing and changing as life grows and changes around us. To not grow and change would be the same thing as dying. It is very human to grow, change, and adapt. It’s how we survived as a species for this long.

Maybe Zella’s personal legend is East of Eden 😉

“Keep me from the cages under the control
Running in the dark to find East of Eden”

Leave a Reply

Follow Caught on the Flipside on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 938 zingers

Blogs I Follow

lifewithlilred

Life is better in red

Glam And Posh

LA fashion & lifestyle blog for fashion, beauty, travel and more from a fashion and lifestyle blogger.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

fadila henry

a girl who likes to write

Peace-n-Passion

A journey to peace.

Music Festival News

Keeping you freshly updated on the best of Europe's music festivals and touring artists.

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

made by mitza

flowers in macro, views of decay, fine arts

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

lifewithlilred

Life is better in red

Glam And Posh

LA fashion & lifestyle blog for fashion, beauty, travel and more from a fashion and lifestyle blogger.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

