Making Plans: We do it all the time

“Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.”
Allen Saunders

“Plans are nothing; planning is everything.”

I have always reflected on plans because, it is my nature to plan. I love it! I like to have all my ducks in a row and every angle thought out. I don’t like missing things, or forgetting one aspect of the plan. It gives me joy when a plan goes just like I wanted it to go.

There  is a flipside to this: Raging and crippling disappointment.

What happens when all of your plans go haywire? Part of your carefully thought out (or in my case sometimes, not so carefully thought out)plans, if not all, has suddenly been destroyed in some way, what do you do?

I had a plan to go visit my dear family up in the lake filled and beautiful Minnesota for my favorite holiday of all time: Thanksgiving! I had it planned for months. When I say months, I mean back to July I was making sure it was okay that I took off from work to go see my family that week. I tried hard not to think about it all the time and plan everything 5 months in advance, because we all know that circumstances can change. However, I wasn’t very great at it… I still managed to have everything taken care of a month in advance. Not to mention, we decided to get a Siberian Husky pup from my brother! I was beyond excited for this trip.

The night before came and everything was packed and by the door. I set my alarm for 4:30 AM (ass crack of dawn… flight left at 6:20) just to make sure I had everything ready. I live two minutes from the airport so it wasn’t going to be an issue getting there.

Little did I know the actual issue.

My calendar on my phone sent me a reminder in the middle of the night about the trip. However, when this happens with Galaxy phones, it means my actual Pandora alarm couldn’t go off.

I woke up at 7:20 wondering why it was so light in my bedroom. It hit me that it couldn’t be before 7. (I get up at 6am every day, I know what the morning looks like) I knew I had missed my flight. Then the hysterics came. I couldn’t function, I was balled up on the bathroom floor sobbing as my dear boyfriend tried talking to the airline to see if we could make a later flight. Apparently for Spirit airline, if you miss your first flight, everything becomes void. Even the return flight…..

I had spent near $500 on this trip already (baggage, hotel, puppy, potential gas money, not to mention taking time off from work)which is a lot of money for my present situation and there it was…. GONE. Just gone…. all with one sentence on repeat from the customer service representative. I think it might have waved at me as it flew over. I was devastated. I could barely talk to my family from the disappointment of it all.

After a little while…. aka 2 days of adjusting my head to the fact that I wasn’t actually going to get to go home for my favorite holiday, I was able to come to terms with it and enjoy the week free of work. I figured at the very least I could read  and play up the video games and knit and drink wine. That is what I proceeded to do and had a lovely time with my dearest man. We were also able to go horse trail riding which was awesome (I’ll have another rant about how poorly those horses are trained and cared for).

Moral of my story… its okay to be disappointed when plans fall through. Just promise yourself that you won’t let it ruin a single moment of your days. I regret how long it took me to get over it emotionally and I do feel it tainted parts of that week. I struggled with being around my boyfriends family for Thanksgiving, simply because they weren’t MINE. They are wonderful people and I was able to re-evaluate and enjoy them. It was just harder than usual.

Never look back unless you are planning to go that way.”

thanks

How my Thanksgiving turned out 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Carolyn Hill
    Dec 16, 2014 @ 16:59:16

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Caught on the Flipside on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 931 zingers

Blogs I Follow

lifewithlilred

Life is better in red

Glam And Posh

LA fashion & lifestyle blog for fashion, beauty, travel and more from a fashion and lifestyle blogger.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

fadila henry

a girl who likes to write

Peace-n-Passion

A journey to peace.

Music Festival News

Keeping you freshly updated on the best of Europe's music festivals and touring artists.

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

made by mitza

flowers in macro, views of decay, fine arts

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

lifewithlilred

Life is better in red

Glam And Posh

LA fashion & lifestyle blog for fashion, beauty, travel and more from a fashion and lifestyle blogger.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

