Biggest Gift To Give

Y’all I have a little bit of a story to share and it has to do with giving to random strangers. A few weeks ago my boyfriend and I stopped at a gas station to grab some beer in a sketchy part of town before going home and as we were walking in these two kids on bikes stopped us and asked if we had any spare change. They couldn’t be older than 13 and they didn’t tell us what they were going to use the 50 cents for and my boyfriend never carries change so he automatically apologized and started to walk away. My first instinct was to follow but then I stopped and just thought, “what if that was me?” My initial fear was the irrational what if they use it for something bad, but how much trouble can you get in with 50 cents? So I told my man to hold up and started digging for change and found the right amount. They were very thankful and when we came back out we noticed they had stopped at the air pump.  All they had wanted was to air up their bike tires so they could go riding around. Cool moment.

Then the story continues a week or so later. We needed to stop and get some air ourselves but since I had given my change to the kids I was all out of change. Like I said my boyfriend never carries change so we were kinda stumped. We went into Walmart to get a few grilling supplies and the plan was to get cash and change…etc. However, we get up there to check out and forget, by then the line had gotten long and neither one of us wanted to hold it up any longer so we were just going to leave. We had to drive a little ways to go to the grill-out we were headed to and I was suddenly worried we wouldn’t make it. The lady in line behind us had overheard the conversation between us and the cashier. She poked my shoulder and said, “Here I have change!” and quickly handed me $1.00 in quarters. All I could do was quickly thank her as the people kept mounting up. I was so flustered I can only hope that my gratitude was shown in my quick thank you. We walked out and all I could think about was that it had to be good karma due to the kids I had helped out. It was such a cool moment and made me determined that if anyone ever needed change and I could help them out, I’ll do it without reserve.

Just this weekend we were once again at the store getting groceries and we were checking out at the self checkout. I was standing there for a few minutes as my boyfriend had to run and get something so I was trying to check out very slowly to give him time (there weren’t many people there so I wasn’t holding anyone up! I promise!). When he arrived we quickly finished and were about to leave the register when the lady next to us, who had also been standing there for a while looking like she was waiting on someone, timidly asked, “hey do you happen to have 14 cents?” I stopped immediately cause I had remembered looking through my change earlier so I could wash my car and I knew I had something left. Sure enough, I had JUST enough for 14 cents. Of course I handed it to her, and on the way out I told my boyfriend that good karma was on the way.

It doesn’t matter how much you give, its how you give it. Moral of the story, if you give of yourself, you’ll always get it back.

“How people treat you is their karma; how you react is yours.”  ― Wayne W. Dyer

“How people treat you is their karma; how you react is yours.”
― Wayne W. Dyer

Leave a Reply

Follow Caught on the Flipside on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 938 zingers

Blogs I Follow

lifewithlilred

Life is better in red

Glam And Posh

LA fashion & lifestyle blog for fashion, beauty, travel and more from a fashion and lifestyle blogger.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

fadila henry

a girl who likes to write

Peace-n-Passion

A journey to peace.

Music Festival News

Keeping you freshly updated on the best of Europe's music festivals and touring artists.

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

made by mitza

flowers in macro, views of decay, fine arts

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

lifewithlilred

Life is better in red

Glam And Posh

LA fashion & lifestyle blog for fashion, beauty, travel and more from a fashion and lifestyle blogger.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

