Our Personal Growth Stunt

“I suppose it is tempting, if the only tool you have is a hammer, to treat everything as if it were a nail.”
Abraham Maslow, Toward a Psychology of Being

When false assumptions are mentioned, I usually think they mean the assumption was a bad one. Which, I’m sure everyone has done that at one point or another. We do the whole, judge a book by its cover whether we like to admit it or not. However, in going through lists of people in my head and through my Facebook feed I find more often than not that a lot of people I’ve made assumptions about have all been relatively good, only to be let down. My first impression of people I take only the good and I’m blind to the bad, only to be either told by someone later that so and so really isn’t that great of a person because of blah blah blah or through experiences of backstabbing and lazy friendships.  I expect the best from people and try not to ever make bad suppositions. In other words, I wear my heart on my sleeve. Which might sound like a great practice, but notice the “let down.” I think its important to emphasize that we not make any extra good or extra bad assumptions period. It puts too much pressure on someone you’ve just met and they can do nothing but disappoint. It’s not to say lower standards or limit possibilities. Just don’t assume anything about a person and take them as they are. That is the best way to value the people you are surrounded by. That is the way you won’t be disappointed and they won’t have a complex to deal with. Otherwise you are going to get stuck in thoughts like, “I thought he/she was better than that,” or “I can’t believe they let that happen!” It is an extra emotional roller coaster that no one needs, and it stunts our personal growth.

Side note….. I think my false assumptions are more oriented around objects. It boils down to whenever I lose something, I have a bad habit of naturally assuming I wasn’t the one who lost it. However, I lose stuff all the time so it’s a rather safe assumption that I was, in fact, the person to misplace whatever it is that is lost.

“Your assumptions are your windows on the world. Scrub them off every once in a while, or the light won't come in.”  ― Isaac Asimov

“Your assumptions are your windows on the world. Scrub them off every once in a while, or the light won’t come in.”
― Isaac Asimov

This was in response to The Daily Prompt!

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Daily Prompt: Think Again | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  2. Trackback: Boyes Turner sees PEP rocket in 2013/14 after ending tripartite merger talks – The Lawyer | marketingmagicbox

Leave a Reply

Follow Caught on the Flipside on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 931 zingers

Blogs I Follow

lifewithlilred

Life is better in red

Glam And Posh

LA fashion & lifestyle blog for fashion, beauty, travel and more from a fashion and lifestyle blogger.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

fadila henry

a girl who likes to write

Peace-n-Passion

A journey to peace.

Music Festival News

Keeping you freshly updated on the best of Europe's music festivals and touring artists.

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

made by mitza

flowers in macro, views of decay, fine arts

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

lifewithlilred

Life is better in red

Glam And Posh

LA fashion & lifestyle blog for fashion, beauty, travel and more from a fashion and lifestyle blogger.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

