Cling, Clamor and Climb

“Some guy said to me: Don’t you think you’re too old to sing rock n’ roll?
I said: You’d better check with Mick Jagger.”
Cher

Age and its obstacles. Or are there any? Does age really bring more hardships into our lives or do we just deal with them in different ways as we gain years? Can life really get away from us or do we just forget to pay attention? I guess my question is, what does age have to do with anything?

“I’m too old for that!” or “Eh, my knee hurts cause of the bad weather, so I just watched re-runs last night.” or maybe “I can’t keep up with you young-in’s.” Whatever the excuse, people always find a reason to lower their expectations about themselves and their activities and settle for the socially acceptable mediocrity. We put up this wall around us and what’s inside is our “comfort zone.”  That zone protects us and keeps us safe. Nothing unexpected happens and a lot of people like it that way. To me, life is what you make it. I have seen some people who I would never guess their age because their personality and experiences were so vibrant and dynamic. That’s the kind of old person I want to be. One that you can’t tell my age unless I tell you  or because I’ve done so much in my life that I would have to be a certain age in order to fit it all in.

I’m not saying I’ve met that many old people who just stop living at some point(although I have seen my fair share of retirement homes), it’s just their priorities change and they start to ask for less from the world instead of forever pushing their limits. I just know that I never want to stop thinking like my twenty something self because… the minute I do that I’m limiting my experiences. Maybe ultimately it would be better to almost forget ones age and judge yourself on life experiences instead of what year you were born. I find more often than not that maturity is not based on age it’s based on how much we aide and contribute to our own lives.

Never stop climbing for more. I don’t mean the corporate ladder either. I mean cling, clamor and climb your way to a life no one could ever encompass in a book, article, or film. Make your life unrepeatable and ultimately too good to be true. Realize that you can do it at this very moment by embracing that mindset and finding your own personal adventures right outside your doorstep. Ask yourself this question just to see: are you being an active participant in your life or if you are just riding along waiting… always waiting for something better to come hit you in the forehead? Figure out how long you are willing to wait before you make life happen.

“Success is determined not by whether or not you face obstacles, but by your reaction to them. And if you look at these obstacles as a containing fence, they become your excuse for failure. If you look at them as a hurdle, each one strengthens you for the next.”
Ben Carson, Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story

“Often it isn’t the mountains ahead that wear you out, it’s the little pebble in your shoe.”
Muhammad Ali

This was in response to “Age-Old Questions” prompt in case y’all were wondering!

Collage4

Leave a Reply

Follow Caught on the Flipside on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 938 zingers

Blogs I Follow

lifewithlilred

Life is better in red

Glam And Posh

LA fashion & lifestyle blog for fashion, beauty, travel and more from a fashion and lifestyle blogger.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

fadila henry

a girl who likes to write

Peace-n-Passion

A journey to peace.

Music Festival News

Keeping you freshly updated on the best of Europe's music festivals and touring artists.

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

made by mitza

flowers in macro, views of decay, fine arts

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

lifewithlilred

Life is better in red

Glam And Posh

LA fashion & lifestyle blog for fashion, beauty, travel and more from a fashion and lifestyle blogger.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

